Spring forward

20120311-133101.jpg
*Yawn*. I am still half asleep as I’m typing this. Why? Because I just lost an hour of sleep.

It would be okay if I had nothing to do today and I could just sleep all day. But it’s Sunday and that means Church. So even though my clock said 10:00 am, in my head it was 9:00 am and my body and mind struggled to get up.

I know, some of you are probably thinking, “What?! You sleep in until 10 on Sundays?” And my answer is, “Yup, the beauty of not having any kids.”

Actually, I usually wake up around 7:30 am to feed the cats and then back to bed I go. But this morning, 7:30 was already 8:30 and so in an attempt to maximize my sleep time, I didn’t get up to feed them. What a bad mom I am. But trust me, if they wanted to eat that badly they would have woken me up. Since they didn’t and seemed perfectly content, I thought they’d be okay waiting a few more hours for breakfast. And they were. Thank you Nikki and Puzzle for letting me sleep!

So what does Spring Forward mean for me? It means I’m going to have an even harder time getting up in the morning. It means I’m going to walk around like a zombie all week. It means I’m not going to be as sharp as I need to be at work and if I have any meetings I might be tempted to close my eyes and sleep (which obviously is a no no at any meeting). It means I’m going to want to sleep as soon as I get home.

It’s crazy how losing 1 hour of sleep can have such a profound affect on my mental and physical state.

I often wonder why we even have daylight savings time. I mean, I know it has to do with the days getting shorter during the winter season but sometimes I wonder if it’s better to just let nature be?

Someone posted this video explaining the history of
daylight savings time which is quite interesting, but I still don’t like the fact that I have just lost an hour of my life. I guess Fall Back can make it up later by giving that one hour back. And of course I love Fall Back. But for now, if you see me grumpy you’ll know why. Losing one hour of my life is not anything to celebrate about. But well, that’s how life goes. The good thing is, spring is just around the corner and this weather we’re having is a mood lifter!

Posted on March 11, 2012, in This and That and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

