Daily prompt: five a day – chocolates or no chocolates?

Daily Prompt: Five a Day

You’ve been exiled to a private island, and your captors will only supply you with five foods. What do you pick?

20130330-091447.jpg
When I saw this question I thought it would be an easy one to answer, but as I started to make my list it got longer and longer. Do I choose indulgence food or nutritious food? How long am I going to be stuck on the island for? Do I ask for chips and chocolates? How about water?

Finally, I narrowed it down by each food group. The only food group that didn’t make the list is dairy. I can live without dairy products and I’d rather have more protein if I’m going to be stuck on an island. I was going to add some type of veggie on the list, but I assume an island will have a lot of leafy plants, some of which I hope are edible. The first thing that popped into my head was rice, so that made the first on the list. Humans need water to live, but I figured watermelon has a lot of water content so I can get my vitamins and water in one shot. Sadly, as much as I would’ve liked to ask for chocolates, that did not make the list. Maybe I can sneak some in?

  1. Rice for carbs
  2. Eggs for protein
  3. Steak for protein
  4. Lobster for protein and omega-3
  5. Watermelon for vitamins and hydration

So that’s my request. The decision wasn’t as easy as I had thought, but I made up my mind. I can’t believe I didn’t include chocolates though! Arghh should I scrap the eggs or rice for chocolates?

What do you think? What would you do if you were in my shoes?

Posted on March 30, 2013, in Wordpress Prompt and Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

Leave a Reply

